Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Deleting sites that were created with errors

This post will have something to do with my next post...

When you are creating site definitions and deploying them via a solution, you may successfully deploy them and then find out there is a problem with them upon creation, i.e. you get an error message when creating a site using the definition through the UI.

After the error occurs, the site may actually have been created, but does not show up in your navigation bar and the root of the site will be inaccessible. Interestingly enough, you can still get to the site's settings page by going to: http://serverName/siteName/_layouts/settings.aspx

You can then delete the broken site from there.

No comments: